TPG Community

Get online support

NBN Congestion During Peak Hours

SOLVED Go to solution
shanodd
Level 2

During peak hours I've noticed congestion. I'm on the Reynella (SA) Node, however from what I've seen on Whirlpool this is a common issue for those who care about latency. Ie. Gamers.

I do speed tests throughout the day and I can achieve > 80% of my 25/5 speed, however during peak ours, I normally achieve < 50% of this.

The speed itself isn't really a concern during the peak hours, as much as the latency.

I've been asked to provide logs and examples, and I've done this, however nothing has eventuated.

I am part of an ESPORTS team and regularly run into situations where my ping which usually is around 32mb, but it rises up to 100-210ms during peaks hours (6pm-midnight). It doesn't happen everynight. It's inconsistent.

I work in IT and have worked for 2 telco's - so I am familiar with ISO tests, trying different modems, factory resets, etc etc.

I'd happy sacrifice 3/4 of my broadband speed, just to get a lower latency.

I'm curious to hear what your suggestions are? Surely an engineer or technician can see the congestion at the POI level? and possibly proactively resolve?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DarylP
Staff

@Elss wrote:

TPG could fix this issue if they gave gaming higher priority which is a quality of service parameter.

This would require the carriers to buy services at the CVC at different Traffic Classes and therefore price to the end customer changes. Avoiding contention then becomes critical at this point and thus based on the prices at the NBN CVC it would be argueably cheaper for TPG to build to your door with a 1:1 fibre service that carries an SLA.

Some fairly blunt industry opinions here back in 2016 still relevant today...

https://www.itnews.com.au/feature/the-fee-that-is-breaking-the-nbn-417827