TPG Community

Get online support

tp-link Kogan Internet Modem VR500V

lcj6159
Level 3

As part of  moving premises, TPG sent me a new modem - a tp-link Kogan Internet Modem VR500V.

I have been using this for approximately 6 months, and the experience has been reasonable to good.

My devices (two laptops) that are connected to the modem via ethernet don't seem to have issues.

But those devices that use wifi, my iPad in particular, sometimes struggle with streaming TV/video/movies.

I realised a few days ago that I have never logged into the modem via http://tplinkmodem.net to configure my modem settings.

The instruction card TPG sent out with the modem says:

1. Select the Advanced tab, then select Network > ETH Internet from the left-hand menu.

2. Select the Edit icon for the default PPPoE entry in the WAN interface table.

When I do this, I see that the:
Username is: user@vodafone.com.au, and

Password is: Vodafone_acs

These appear to be a default/generic Username and Password.

So, my questions:
1. Why is my modem working (mostly) and I am able to connect to the internet without having followed the next step in the instructions: Enter your TPG NBN Username and Password. Your username can be found in emails from us (TPG) about your NBN order.

2. Is their any advantage, will I notice any difference if I edit the username (user@vodafone.com.au) and password (Vodafone_acs) to my own username and password?

7 REPLIES 7
david64
Level 15

Hi @lcj6159 . What model wifi router did you use at your old address? Is it still working? Have you tried using it at your new address?

Regarding your wifi devices, which wifi band do they use? Are they all on just one band or are they split between both? The wifi bandwidth of the new router might be less than the old one.

What wifi connection speed do they get? In the wifi settings on each device, tap the connection to see the speed. This is nothing to do with the download and upload speed in a speed test.