MDF Box can not be located

jasonwu9921
Level 3

HI i have been with TPG for a year now approaching my 2nd.

I have always been using the adsl line but now i want to switch to NBN broadband.

I called TPG and asked to book an appointment, i missed the first one because times were not specific so i decided to book again for a technician to come in and help me with the installation of NBN, but to my surprise the job could not be done because the technician could not find the MDF box.

Once again i had to book again for another appointment but i was told that i had to find the box myself, i have no knowledge of what it is nor do i know what it looks like, the customer service was done very poorly and i was never told i needed to know where the box is as i thought that the technician knew it all. 

I have moved houses (Villa) and i have not even been here for a year and never got told about some MDF box. I am unsure if there even is this 'MDF' box on my property. I wish TPG would help me with this situation but instead they leave me to do it myself with limited knowledge.

14 REPLIES 14
david64
Level 15

The main distribution frame (MDF) is used to connect telephone cables from the street to telephone cables going to each apartment in apartment block and possibly in a villa complex as well. There might be someone in your villa complex who knows about it or your strata plan manager. It could be a small utility room near the front of the block.

jasonwu9921
Level 3

Yes i have looked all around the complex and asked almost all residents here, they all say they have their own box on their wall outside of their house. 

I have also called Strata and they had no idea, their final decision was to send emails to the residents that live here, same answer came back, "We all have our own telephone box on our walls outside of the house".