TPG Community

Get online support

Archer VR1600v - Wake on Lan from Internet

SOLVED Go to solution
RLK
Level 3
Level 3

I have an Archer VR1600v router on an NBN connection to the Internet.

Trying to configure the router so I can wake a computer on the LAN from the internet.

I have tested the computer by waking it from a Laptop on the LAN so the computer supports WoL.

In the router setup :-

Have setup virtual server to redirect external port to port 7 and the target IP address.

Have bound the MAC address and IP address.

Reserved the static IP address for the computer.

I already use remote desktop from the internet to this computer - want to take the next step to be able to wake up the computer then log in to remote desktop.

Any help / suggestions would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RLK
Level 3
Level 3

After trying various ideas it seems to me that the Archer VR1600v router does not support this.

I am no expert however with my limited knoweldge :-

1. Wake on Lan basically issues a broadcast messge.

2. The router will not allow broadcast messages from the Internet to pass through to the LAN

Further investigation I have found a workaround and a solution which actually ends up being reasonably straight forward.

1. Set up a VPN connection and make a VPN connection.

2. Launch the Majic Packet from within the LAN to wake up the PC.

3. Wait a short time then launch Remote Terminal.

The computer can be powered off after the session and close the VPN.

The Archer Router supports 3 VPN's  

Open VPN

PPTP VPN

IPSec VPN

I intially used PPTP (which worked) however changed to Open VPN which seemed to be the better option based on the router User Manual. 

You need to download the Open VPN Client for the remote computer www.openvpn.net  - Freeware

A static IP is required - using No IP (also a standard feature in the Archer rouiter) works well.  www.noip.com

The Wake on Lan utility - I used Depicus   www.depicus.com -  Freeware