TPG Community

Get online support

Does TPG plan to support IPv6 in 2023?

tonyallan
Level 3

It's now 2023, more than 23 years since IPv6 was introduced and more than a decade since "World IPv6 Launch Day". NBN supports IPv6 as it is a service offered by other NBN ISP's.

As a software developer, I need to learn about IPv6 and how to write code that supports IPv6 both on the server and also in client software.

Can TPG help me as a software developer?

10 REPLIES 10
Aubrey

Hi @tonyallan, at present, our NBN plans does not support IPv6.

Any changes on our NBN offers will be surely posted on our website.

Regards,

Aubrey 

david64
Level 15

Hi @tonyallan . You might be able to do something at the local level. Most routers support IPv6, just needs to be enabled.

If you can obtain 2 computers, configure for IPv6. You can write a server program on one computer, and a client program on the other. You won't have an ipv6 dns so you may have to use an ip address in the client program. 

There is Winsock documentation relevant to ipv6.

tonyallan
Level 3

Any suggestions on how I can test using IPv6 to a cloud server?

tonyallan
Level 3

Thanks for the suggestion but I need to test AWS cloud based services.

david64
Level 15

@tonyallan . Is Teredo tunnelling still available?

tonyallan
Level 3

In theory it might be possible.

I could do this:

Client (MacOS [1] in Melbourne) -> Relay (Finland [2]) -> server to test (AWS Melbourne or Sydney).

For learning/test/support:

1. A very uncommon solution (not good if I have problems)
  2. IPv6 addresses will not match on laptop and AWS server
  3. Who knows what the performance will look like (I currently test performance with an expectation of less than 20-30 ms end-to-end) — PS: I'm looking to start using AWS Melbourne to reduce the delays in using a server in Sydney.
  4. Server HTTPS certificate unlikely to validate correctly because of the IP address change.