Security certificates

david64
Level 15

Could a moderator pass this on to whoever maintains the security certificates for the tpg.com.au web server.

Is someone fooling with the security certificates for TPG web server tpg.com.au?
I have a Samsung J3 mobile phone (Android 5.1.1) that I use to check my emails using Chrome and Post Office. I have been doing this for over 5 years. One time several weeks ago, and Wednesday (7th Dec), I was unable to do this because of an incomplete certificate chain being sent to the phone. I tried deleting the browser cache, restarting phone, and turning it off and on. Didn't fix it.
I turned off mobile data and connected the phone to my home wifi. Problem still occurs, so it's not caused by my mobile carrier.
Thursday morning (8th Dec), I tried again and it worked. I did nothing to the phone between when it didn't work the previous evening and when it started working in the morning. So, something happened with the TPG web server before I used it on 7th Dec, and when it was working on 8th Dec.
About 9:15 pm (8th Dec), same problem has occurred. An Android tablet with Chrome was affected for a short while but is working now. The mobile phone is still not working. Other web sites (Community, Wikipedia, Google, banks, retailers) still work, just not tpg.com.au.
Some time before 2:30 pm Friday, the phone is working again. But it failed and worked randomly though afternoon and evening.  Friday night and still not working.

The certificate chain has 4 entries:
*.tpg.com.au
R3
ISRG Root X1
DST Root CA X3
When the problem occurs, only the first two entries in the chain are being sent.
The browser window shows the message: Your connection is not private
NET::ERR_CERT_AUTHORITY_INVALID

19 REPLIES 19
Shane

Hi @david64,

Thanks for bringing this up to us. We will coordinate this with the relevant team for investigation. We will notify you as soon as an update is available. 

Regards,