TPG Community

Get online support

Unusable mobile apps on 5G Home boardband

orunitia
Level 2

Hi all,

Not sure if anyone has encountered something similar. I have been using TPG 5G Home Broadband Premium for almost 3 months. Everything has been fine until recently when I am connected to the WIFI on my phone,some of the apps I used become extremely slow and it's unusable (e.g. reddit , signal messager). Once I switched it back to my mobile data (Optus) or any other WIFI network, everything works fine. 

The strange thing is , if I access the website equivalent (e.g. reddit) on the browser, eveything works fine, only the apps is not usable. 

I have tried : reinstalling apps / clear cache and data / set up private DNS.

Would love some advice on how to troubleshot the issue. 

Thank you. 

17 REPLIES 17
BasilDV

Hi @orunitia 

Have you tried to test the app on another handset or mobile phone for comparison?

Did you set the private DNS on your handset?

orunitia
Level 2
I did , several different android devices. Same thing.
Should eliminate device issue.

Yes I set my private DNS on my device to google. figured it would help but it didn't.

Another thing is if i turn on vpn on my device, everything also works fine.
That should eliminate any network speed issues.

Ahra_G

Hi @orunitia, send us a private message and we'll lend a hand and sort out the connection issue. 

ja22
Level 2

I'm having same issue.

Need urgent help. It's like the apps via android devices are blacklisted or something.

sambros
Level 2
Did this get resolved for you? I have been facing the same issues for a few weeks now, initially thought had issues with my mobile but it worked just fine when I switched to mobile data
orunitia
Level 2
unfortunately no.
I am still waiting for their support to contact me.
I do have a temporary work around though, using a vpn on your phone will makes things work again.