Weak Security

SOLVED Go to solution
mrspeel
Level 2

Trying to resolve the 'weak security' on my wifi which appeared after iOS 14 update.  My HG659 Huawei doesn't have the option to select either WAP2 (aes) or WAP3 - it's currently set to WPA-PSK+WPA-PSK.  I'm not very tech savvy so any help is appreciated. Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Shane

Hi @mrspeel,

You do not need a new modem/router, you simply need to update the WIFI security settings on the modem/router's page.

To prevent the message from coming up the you need to change the WiFi settings of the modem/router to use newer more secure encryption.

You may simply change the WIFI settings like the image below this should eliminate the error message popping up to your Iphone's screen.

Note: some older devices that do not support WPA2 may no longer be able to connect after making the changes.

More details can be found on the Apple website:

https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT202068#security

Let us know should you require further assistance.

Regards,

Thanks for the reply!  Really appreciated.  Those settings are exactly what I have.  I reset them and 'saved' but still getting 'weak security'.  Do I need a new router? 🙁

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
BryanR

Hi mrspeel,

Whilst the HG659 is limited you can change the WiFi Security settings as per the two select field's in the modem under " WLAN Settings" pic below , dont forget to "SAVE" the changes, trust this helps - kind regards

HG659 WiFi Security SettingsHG659 WiFi Security Settings

mrspeel
Level 2

Thanks for the reply!  Really appreciated.  Those settings are exactly what I have.  I reset them and 'saved' but still getting 'weak security'.  Do I need a new router? 🙁

Shane

Hi @mrspeel,

You do not need a new modem/router, you simply need to update the WIFI security settings on the modem/router's page.